Skip to content

Court initiatives to improve the administration of justice

In addition to the standing boards, committees, and commissions that help the Supreme Court on matters related to the administration of justice, the court will occasionally launch initiatives to examine specific issues or concerns that may require considerable study. 

Supreme Court Ad Hoc Pretrial Justice Task Force

Ad Hoc Committee on Bonding Practices, Fines, and Fees in Municipal Courts


COVID-19 pandemic operations initiatives

The Supreme Court formed two groups to examine issues related court operations during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Ad Hoc Jury Task Force

Ad Hoc Virtual Court Proceedings Committee


Veterans treatment courts

In November and December 2020, Chief Justice Marla Luckert and retired Chief Justice Lawton Nuss are cohosting a four-part webinar series on starting veterans treatment courts. 

Veterans Treatment Courts

1st Judicial District

Atchison, Leavenworth

2nd Judicial District

Jackson, Jefferson, Pottawatomie, Wabaunsee

4th Judicial District

Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, Osage

5th Judicial District

Chase, Lyon

6th Judicial District

Bourbon, Linn, Miami

8th Judicial District

Dickinson, Geary, Marion, Morris

9th Judicial District

Harvey, McPherson

11th Judicial District

Cherokee, Crawford, Labette

12th Judicial District

Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, Washington

13th Judicial District

Butler, Elk, Greenwood

14th Judicial District

Chautauqua, Montgomery

15th Judicial District

Cheyenne, Logan, Rawlins, Sheridan, Sherman, Thomas, Wallace

16th Judicial District

Clark, Comanche, Ford, Gray, Kiowa, Meade

17th Judicial District

Decatur, Graham, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Smith

20th Judicial District

Barton, Ellsworth, Rice, Russell, Stafford

22th Judicial District

Brown, Doniphan,
Marshall, Nemaha

23th Judicial District

Ellis, Gove, Rooks, Trego

24th Judicial District

Edwards, Hodgeman, Lane, Ness, Pawnee, Rush

25th Judicial District

Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, Wichita

26th Judicial District

Grant, Haskell, Morton, Seward, Stanton, Stevens

28th Judicial District

Ottawa, Saline

30th Judicial District

Barber, Harper, Kingman, Pratt, Sumner

31st Judicial District

Allen, Neosho, Wilson, Woodson

Find a District Court

Back to top