Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission sent the names of four nominees for district judge to Gov. Laura Kelly, who has 60 days to decide who will fill the vacancy created when Chief Judge Evelyn Wilson left her position to become a Supreme Court justice.

The 3rd Judicial District is composed of Shawnee County.

The commission interviewed 10 people February 28.

The four nominees are:

  • Kevin J. Cook, Topeka, private practice, Cook Law Office, Topeka;

  • Jessica G. Domme, Tecumseh, assistant attorney general, Kansas Attorney General's office;

  • Lori D. Dougherty-Bichsel, Silver Lake, administrative judge and department director, Topeka Municipal Court; and

  • Todd M. Thornburg, Topeka, staff attorney and special assistant attorney general, Kansas Department of Labor.

Nominees for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of Shawnee County at the time of taking office and while holding office.

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Supreme Court Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair, Terry Beck, Daniel Crow, Thomas Lemon, Randall Phillips, and Eric Stafford, all of Topeka, and Toby McCullough, Rossville.

Find a District Court

Back to top