Skip to content

Rural Justice Initiative Committee


The Kansas Rural Justice Initiative Committee charge is to study general population trends, as well as trends related to attorneys and other legal professionals who support court and court-adjacent programs. It will also look for differences in unmet legal needs related to population density.



  • Justice K.J. Wall, Kansas Supreme Court, chair

  • Judge Kim R. Schroeder, Kansas Court of Appeals

  • Chief Judge Daniel D. Creitz, 31st Judicial District

  • Chief Judge Kevin Berens, 15th Judicial District

  • District Judge Tom Drees, 23rd Judicial District

  • District Judge Richard Marquez, 25th Judicial District

  • District Magistrate Judge Regine Thompson, 12th Judicial District

  • Senator Elaine Bowers, District 36

  • Representative Tory Marie Blew, District 112

  • Stephen B. Angermayer, attorney, Pittsburg

  • Paige Bangerter, attorney, Dodge City

  • Andrew Bolton, attorney, Louisburg

  • Stacey Blakeman, Assistant Dean of Career Services, University of Kansas, Lawrence

  • Ashley D. Comeau, attorney, Plainville

  • Alan Cobb, Kansas Chamber of Commerce, Topeka

  • Aaron Cunningham, attorney, Hays

  • Timothy Demel, attorney, Beloit

  • Shirley Fessler, Director of Outreach and Accessibility, Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence, Topeka

  • Wendee D. Grady, Assistant General Counsel and Director of Legal Foundation, Kansas Farm Bureau, Manhattan

  • Marilyn Harp, Executive Director, Kansas Legal Services, Topeka

  • Joslyn Kusiak, attorney, Independence

  • Shawn Leisinger, Associate Dean for Centers and External Programs, Externship Director, Washburn University School of Law, Topeka

  • Angela Meyer, attorney, Pittsburg

  • Joshua Ney, Jefferson County Attorney, Oskaloosa

  • Charles Peckham, attorney, Atwood

  • Trisha Purdon, Office of Rural Prosperity, Kansas Department of Commerce, Coffeyville

  • Brad Ralph, attorney, Dodge City

  • David J. Rebein, attorney, Dodge City

  • Wendy Rohleder-Sook, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Director of Pre-Law/Legal Studies at Fort Hays State University, Hays

  • Ann Sagan, Director of Special Projects for the Kansas Board of Indigents’ Defense Services, Topeka

  • Sally Shattuck, attorney, Ashland

  • Brien Stockman, attorney and Dane G. Hansen Foundation Trustee, Logan

  • Etta L. Walker, attorney, Sharon Springs

  • Jake Worcester, Kansas 4-H Foundation, Manhattan

  • Jill Zimmerman, Kansas Agriculture and Rural Leadership Program, Manhattan


Find a District Court

Back to top