Skip to content

Update: The interview schedule has changed.

TOPEKA—The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene at 8:30 a.m. Thursday, April 25, to interview nominees to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Franklin County.
The vacancy was created by the March 1 retirement of District Magistrate Judge Kevin Kimball.
The 4th Judicial District is composed of Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties.
Interview schedule
9:30 a.m.
David Braun, Topeka, attorney, Braun Law
10 a.m.
Todd Rhodes, Ottawa, court services officer, 4th Judicial District Court
10:30 a.m.
Joseph Falls, Ottawa, attorney, Falls Law Office LLC
Public interviews
Interviews are open to the public. They will take place at:
Franklin County District Court Building
Basement Law Library
301 S Main St.
Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days before the meeting date:
ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711
District magistrate judge appointment process
A nominee for district magistrate judge must be:

  • a resident of Franklin County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination to become certified within 18 months. 

The nominating commission selects whom to appoint to fill district magistrate judge positions.
Term of office
After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.
Nominating commission
The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Eric S. Rosen as the nonvoting chair; Craig Cole, Garnett; Anthony Mersman, Greeley; Phyllis Gardner and Janet Walsh, Lyndon; Brandon Jones and Colton Waymire, Ottawa; John Boyd, Pomona; and Timothy Johnson, Waverly.

Find a District Court

Back to top