Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed Judge David Bruns to complete an unexpired term on the Kansas Board of Law Examiners.

Bruns has served on the Kansas Court of Appeals since 2011. He succeeds Melissa Taylor Standridge, who was appointed a Kansas Supreme Court justice in November. Standridge previously was a Court of Appeals judge.

Bruns will serve through June 30, 2023.

Before his appointment to the Court of Appeals, Bruns was a district court judge in the 3rd Judicial District, composed of Shawnee County, and a private practice lawyer.

The 10-member Kansas Board of Law Examiners is composed of lawyers and judges. They oversee all matters relating to applications for admission, character and fitness, testing accommodations, temporary permits to practice, and legal intern permits.

Other members of the board are:

  • Carol Park, chair, a lawyer at Schwartz & Park, Hays;

  • Molly Wood, vice chair, a lawyer at Stevens & Brand, Lawrence;

  • David Cooper, a partner at Fisher Patterson Sayler & Smith, Topeka;

  • Christina Holland, chief counsel for the Internal Revenue Service, Kansas City, Missouri;

  • Patrick Hughes, a lawyer at Adams Jones, Wichita;

  • Jacy Hurst, a lawyer and partner at Kutak Rock, Kansas City, Missouri;

  • Peter Johnston, a lawyer at Clark Mize & Linville, Salina;

  • Larkin Walsh, a lawyer at Sharp Law, Prairie Village; and

  • C. Edward Watson, a lawyer and partner at Foulston Siefkin, Wichita.


Find a District Court

Back to top