Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas District Judges Association, an organization open to all state district court judges, has elected officers to serve the organization in the coming year.

Judge Dan Creitz was elected president. He is chief judge of the 31st Judicial District, composed of Allen, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson counties.

"I am honored to serve as president of this outstanding, hard-working association," Creitz said. "The pandemic delivered the Kansas court system unprecedented challenges, which our courts are diligently working through. The judges on the KDJA executive committee play a critical role supporting our district court judges and the Kansas Supreme Court as we address these challenges."

Creitz has served as a district judge since 2002 and chief judge since 2011. He is a native of Iola and graduated from Iola High School, Allen Community College, Emporia State University, and Washburn University School of Law.

Creitz succeeds Judge Bruce Gatterman as president. Gatterman is chief judge of the 24th Judicial District, composed of Edwards, Hodgeman, Lane, Ness, Pawnee, and Rush counties. He will serve on the executive committee as immediate past-president.

Other officers elected:

  • Judge Kim Cudney, president-elect. She is chief judge of the 12th Judicial District, composed of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties.

  • Judge Thomas Kelly Ryan, secretary. He is chief judge of the 10th Judicial District, composed of Johnson County.

  • Judge Brenda Cameron, treasurer. She is a district judge in the 10th Judicial District.

Members elected the new officers during a virtual conference for judges in October.

Find a District Court

Back to top