Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed three people to the Language Access Committee and reappointed a current member.

The committee makes recommendations to the Supreme Court to ensure that people with limited English skills can access services of Kansas district courts.

Appointed to the committee:

  • District Magistrate Judge Erich Campbell, who serves in Pottawatomie County in the 2nd Judicial District;

  • Tabitha Owen, county attorney for Smith County; and

  • Ellen House, court administrator for the 18th Judicial District, which is Sedgwick County.

Reappointed to the committee:

  • Thomas Fields, a lawyer from Kansas City, Kansas.

Their terms begin July 1 and end June 30, 2023.

The court also appointed District Judge Teresa Watson as chair. She serves in the 3rd Judicial District, which is Shawnee County.

The committee is made up of judges, court administrators, lawyers, and interpreters.

Also serving on the committee are:

  • Chief Judge Karen Arnold-Burger of the Kansas Court of Appeals;

  • Chief Judge Bradley Ambrosier of the 26th Judicial District, composed of Grant, Haskell, Morton, Seward, Stanton, and Stevens counties;

  • Chief Judge Laura Lewis of the 16th Judicial District, composed of Clark, Comanche, Ford, Gray, Kiowa, and Meade counties;

  • Kurtis Jacobs, court administrator for the 25th Judicial District, composed of Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties;

  • Oscar Marino, a court interpreter from Lawrence; and

  • Maura Miller, a court interpreter from Overland Park.

Find a District Court

Back to top