Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Ottawa County created by the August 14 retirement of Judge Mary Thrower.

The 28th Judicial District is composed of Ottawa and Saline counties.

Justice Caleb Stegall, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 28th Judicial District, said nominees can apply or be nominated, but it must be on a nomination form and include the nominee's signature.

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Ottawa County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court in Ottawa and Saline counties, the clerk of the appellate courts at the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka, or online at

One original and eight copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be submitted by noon Thursday, July 9, to:

Peter Johnston
Commission Secretary
129 S. 8th St.
Salina KS 67401

The nominating commission will convene to interview nominees Tuesday, July 28, in the Ottawa County Courthouse, 307 N. Concord, Minneapolis. Interviews are open to the public. The commission will then appoint a district magistrate judge.

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Stegall as the nonvoting chair; David Stanley of Bennington; Jay Macy of Minneapolis; Lance Cochran, Robert German, Peter Johnston, Christine Ritter, and Darrell Wilson of Salina; and Robert Martin of Solomon. 

Find a District Court

Back to top