Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed Jacy Hurst of Lawrence and C. Edward Watson of Wichita to five-year terms on the Kansas Board of Law Examiners.

Hurst is a lawyer and partner at Kutak Rock, Kansas City, Mo. She succeeds Laura Ice, vice president and general counsel at Textron Financial Corp., Wichita, who served as vice chair of the board.

Watson is a lawyer and partner at Foulston Siefkin, Wichita. He succeeds Donald Peterson II, a lawyer at Graybill & Hazlewood, Wichita, who served as chair of the board.

Hurst and Watson will serve terms that began July 1 and end June 30, 2025.

The court also appointed Carol Park, a lawyer at Schwartz & Park, Hays, as chair and Molly Wood, a lawyer at Stevens & Brand, Lawrence, as vice chair.

The 10-member Kansas Board of Law Examiners is composed of lawyers and judges. They oversee all matters relating to applications for admission, character and fitness, testing accommodations, temporary permits to practice, and legal intern permits.

Other members of the board are:

  • David Cooper, a partner at Fisher Patterson Sayler & Smith, Topeka;

  • Christina Holland, chief counsel for the Internal Revenue Service, Kansas City, Missouri;

  • Patrick Hughes, a lawyer at Adams Jones, Wichita;

  • Peter Johnston, a lawyer at Clark Mize & Linville, Salina;

  • Kansas Court of Appeals Judge Melissa Taylor Standridge; and

  • Larkin Walsh, a lawyer at Sharp Law, Prairie Village.

Find a District Court

Back to top