Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed Jon Newman and Coleen Stein to three-year terms on the Client Protection Fund Commission.

Newman is a lawyer from Wichita. Stein is a nonlawyer from Dodge City. Their terms began July 1 and end June 30, 2023.

The Lawyers Fund for Client Protection, which the commission oversees, compensates people who suffer economic loss as a result of dishonest actions by Kansas lawyers. The fund is financed by annual registration fees paid by lawyers to practice law in Kansas.

Of the roughly 11,100 lawyers actively licensed to practice in Kansas, about 20 each year are subject to claims made to the client protection fund.

The commission is composed of one judge, four actively practicing lawyers, and two nonlawyers.

Other members are:

  • Ann Adrian, nonlawyer, Newton;

  • Carrie Allton, lawyer, Lawrence;

  • Christopher Sook, lawyer, Hays;

  • David Trevino, lawyer, Lawrence; and

  • District Judge Teresa Watson, who serves in the 3rd Judicial District, which is Shawnee County.

Find a District Court

Back to top