Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by videoconference at 9:30 a.m. Tuesday, July 28, to interview nominees to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Ottawa County created by the August 14 retirement of Judge Mary Thrower.

The meeting will be broadcast live on the Kansas judicial branch YouTube channel at The commission originally had planned to convene in the Ottawa County Courthouse in Minneapolis to interview nominees.

The 28th Judicial District is composed of Ottawa and Saline counties.

Public comment

The commission will accept public comment about the nominees a few minutes after 9:30 a.m. Anyone who wants to make comment by telephone conference must email to ask for instructions.

Interview schedule

10 a.m.
Andrew Couch, Salina, private practice lawyer

10:30 a.m.
Amy C. Crawford, Salina, assistant county attorney, Dickinson County Attorney’s Office

11 a.m.
Jason C. Parks, Minneapolis, a licensed attorney and owner of Ink Sharks LLC and Messenger Publishing Company

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Ottawa County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.


After interviews conclude, the commission will appoint the district magistrate judge.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Supreme Court Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; David Stanley of Bennington; Jay Macy of Minneapolis; Lance Cochran, Robert German, Peter Johnston, Christine Ritter, and Darrell Wilson of Salina; and Robert Martin of Solomon. 

Find a District Court

Back to top