Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 30th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene September 30 to interview seven nominees to fill a district judge vacancy in Sumner County created when Judge R. Scott McQuin retired August 15.

The nominating commission will convene at 8:15 a.m. September 30 in Wellington to interview nominees. The commission will announce if it changes how it will meet because of pandemic concerns. Interviews are open to the public.

The 30th Judicial District is composed of Barber, Harper, Kingman, Pratt, and Sumner counties.

The nominees are:

  • Shawn R. DeJarnett, Wellington, city attorney for Derby and Wellington and private practice lawyer;

  • Timothy J. Henry, Cheney, retired public defender;

  • Chrystal L. Krier, Wichita, private practice lawyer;

  • Candace R. Lattin, Medicine Lodge, district magistrate judge, Barber County;

  • Kassie L. McEntire, Great Bend, field staff attorney for Saint Francis Ministries;

  • Scott E. McPherson, Anthony, district magistrate judge, Harper County; and

  • Gaten T. Wood, Sharon, county attorney for Barber County, counselor and city attorney for Medicine Lodge, and private practice lawyer.

Nominees to governor

The commission will select from three to five nominees whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. If there are not three nominees who reside in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the district. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Eligibility requirements

Nominees for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office.

Nominating commission

The 30th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Supreme Court Justice Eric Rosen as the nonvoting chair; Hannah Brass, Medicine Lodge; Sidney Burkholder, Harper; Lance Dixon, Kingman; Justin Goodno, Kiowa; Robert Eisenhauer, Pratt; Elaine Esparza, Harper; Alan Goering, Medicine Lodge; Gregory Graffman, Kingman; Melvin Matlock, Belle Plaine; and Jason Roberts, Pratt.

Find a District Court

Back to top