Skip to content

Board of Examiners of Court Reporters


The Kansas Board of Examiners of Court Reporters:

  • supervises granting certificates of eligibility for certified court reporters;

  • administers the annual registration;

  • oversees court reporter conduct; and

  • reviews and acts on any complaints made against a certified court reporter. 

Board members serve three-year terms and may serve a total of nine consecutive years, except a member initially appointed to serve an unexpired term may serve an addtional nine consecutive years. 


  • Melinda G. Young, chair, attorney

  • Lynelle Gottschalk, official reporter

  • Mary Castaneda, managing court reporter

  • Chris McMullin, attorney

  • Kai Mann, attorney

  • Jennifer L. Olsen, official reporter

  • Chief Judge Steve Johnson, 20th Judicial District

  • Vesta L. York , certified reporter

  • ​Judge Chris Jayaram, 10th Judicial District


Kansas Board of Examiners of Court Reporters
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th Ave. 
Topeka KS 66612

Find a District Court

Back to top