May 2021 News Releases

Kansas Judicial Center to reopen to public June 1

TOPEKA—The Kansas Judicial Center will reopen to the public Tuesday, June 1.

The Judicial Center, 301 SW 10th Ave., has been open by appointment only. Beginning Tuesday, it will be open to the public from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays.

Visitors must follow minimum standard health protocols to avoid exposing court ...

Supreme Court appoints four to Kansas Continuing Legal Education Board

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed four members to the Kansas Continuing Legal Education Board.

Joslyn Kusiak, a lawyer at Kelly & Kusiak Law Office in Independence, was reappointed to a three-year term beginning July 1 and ending June 30, 2024.

New to the board are Jean Menager and District Judge Andrew ...

A few suspensions of statutory time requirements in Administrative Order 2021-PR-020 still in effect

TOPEKA—Chief Justice Marla Luckert announced today that a few suspensions involving statutory time requirements for court proceedings that were included in an order she signed in March remain in effect.

Luckert made the announcement after learning the Legislative Coordinating Council voted today to extend the state of disaster ...

Supreme Court reappoints three members to Kansas Commission on Judicial Conduct

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court reappointed three members to the Kansas Commission on Judicial Conduct.

Reappointed were:

  • Chief Judge Bradley Ambrosier, Elkhart, who serves in the 26th Judicial District, composed of Grant, Haskell, Morton, Seward ...

Supreme Court appoints law professor to Kansas Lawyers Assistance Program Board

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed Janet Thompson Jackson to the Kansas Lawyers Assistance Program Board.

Jackson, Topeka, is a professor of law and directs the Small Business and Nonprofit Law Clinic at Washburn University School of Law. She also is a certified wellness coach. She will serve a four-year term on the board ...

Chief justice appoints members to Kansas Judicial Council

TOPEKA—Chief Justice Marla Luckert appointed Chief Judge Patricia Macke Dick to a four-year term on the Kansas Judicial Council and ...

Supreme Court issues updated COVID-19 policies and procedures

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court today issued an administrative order, guidance documents, and personnel policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

"Over the last year, Kansas courts continued to serve their communities either in person following statewide safety protocols, or remotely through video hearings and online ...

Election results for chair, 4th District lawyer representative for Supreme Court Nominating Commission

TOPEKA—Kansas lawyers recently voted to elect the chair and a representative from the 4th Congressional District to serve on the Supreme Court Nominating Commission.

The canvassers appointed to certify the election results announced

Chief Judge Steve Johnson to sit with Kansas Supreme Court May 28

TOPEKA—Chief Judge Steve Johnson of the 20th Judicial District will sit with the Kansas Supreme Court to hear and help decide one case on the court' ...

District Judges John Bosch, Keven O’Grady to sit with Kansas Supreme Court May 28

TOPEKA—District Judge John Bosch of Riley County and District Judge Keven O'Grady of Johnson County will sit with the Kansas Supreme Court to hear and help decide one case on the court's May 28 docket that will take place by videoconference.

"The Supreme Court looks forward to Judge Bosch and Judge O'Grady ...

District Judge Kathleen Lynch to sit with Kansas Supreme Court May 25

TOPEKA—District Judge Kathleen Lynch of the 29th Judicial District will sit with the Kansas Supreme Court to hear and help decide one case on the ...

Chief justice issues statement on judicial branch funding

Luckert says budget enhancement will transform court operations by addressing longstanding funding concerns.

TOPEKA—Chief Justice Marla Luckert issued the following statement today on learning the Kansas Legislature adopted 2021 Senate Bill 159

Supreme Court appoints two lawyers to Ad Hoc Virtual Court Proceedings Committee

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed two new members to the Ad Hoc Virtual Court Proceedings Committee.

Christopher Joseph, a Topeka lawyer, replaces Shannon Rush, a former district magistrate judge.

Angela Meyer, a Pittsburg lawyer, is an additional member of the committee.

The Supreme Court established ...

District Judge Steven Hornbaker to retire June 1

TOPEKA—District Judge Steven Hornbaker of the 8th Judicial District will retire June 1 after more than 21 years of service.

Hornbaker was ...