Skip to content

TOPEKA—Chief Justice Marla Luckert appointed Chief Judge Amy Harth to fill an unexpired term on the Kansas Judicial Council.

Harth will complete a term ending June 30, 2023. She is chief judge of the 6th Judicial District, composed of Bourbon, Linn, and Miami counties.

The Judicial Council reviews the administration of justice in Kansas. It can make recommendations to the Supreme Court or the Kansas Legislature for changes to court rules or the law.

The council can be asked to draft legislation and court rules. It also produces books and manuals, publishes legal forms for use in state courts, and prepares jury instructions.

The chief justice of the Supreme Court appoints eight of its 10 members. The chairs of the House and Senate Judiciary Committees are also members.

Luckert chairs the council. Other members are:

  • Judge Stephen Hill, Court of Appeals;

  • Chief Judge Kim Cudney, 12th Judicial District, composed of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties;

  • Sen. Kellie Warren, chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee;

  • Rep. Fred Patton, chair of House Judiciary Committee;

  • Victor Braden, Topeka attorney;

  • Joseph Jeter, Hays attorney;

  • F. James Robinson Jr., Wichita attorney; and

  • Sarah Bootes Shattuck, Ashland attorney.


Find a District Court

Back to top