Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court reappointed Christopher Sook, Hays, and David Trevino, Lawrence, to three-year terms on the Client Protection Fund Commission.

Both are lawyers. Their terms begin July 1 and end June 30, 2024.

The Lawyers Fund for Client Protection, which the commission oversees, compensates people who suffer economic loss as a result of dishonest actions by Kansas lawyers. The fund is financed by annual registration fees paid by lawyer to practice law in the state.

Out of about 11,100 lawyers actively licensed to practice in the state, about 20 lawyers each year have been subject to claims made to the client protection fund.

The commission is composed of one judge, four actively practicing lawyers, and two nonlawyers.

Trevino is vice chair of the commission. Other members are:

  • Carrie Allton, Topeka, lawyer and chair of the commission;

  • Ann Adrian, Newton, nonlawyer;

  • Jon Newman, Wichita, lawyer;

  • Coleen Stein, Dodge City, nonlawyer; and

  • District Judge Teresa Watson, Topeka, who serves in the 3rd Judicial District, which is Shawnee County.

Find a District Court

Back to top