Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by Zoom videoconference at 10 a.m. Wednesday, July 28, to discuss the nomination process to fill a district judge vacancy. 

The vacancy will be created when Chief Judge Joe Dickinson retires September 18. 

The 9th Judicial District is composed of Harvey and McPherson counties.

Public access

The meeting is open to the public. To listen:

call 1-877-400-9499; and
enter conference code 2199381974


Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible:

ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711

Eligibility requirements

A nominee for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office.

The nominating commission seeks nominations and then meets to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public.  

Nominees to governor

The nominating commission will select from three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.

If there are not three nominees who reside in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the district.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Melissa Taylor Standridge as the nonvoting chair; Thomas A. Adrian, George A. “Chip” Westfall, Jana McKinney, and John S. Robb, all of Newton; Michael L. Androes, Harris G. Terry, and Ann M. E. Elliott, all of McPherson; and Amie L. Bauer of Lindsborg. 

Find a District Court

Back to top