Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district judge vacancy created when Judge Joe Dickinson retires September 18.
The 9th Judicial District is composed of Harvey and McPherson counties.
Justice Melissa Standridge, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 9th Judicial District, said individuals can apply or be nominated, but nominations must come on a nomination form and include the nominee's signature.
Eligibility requirements

A nominee for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of the 9th judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office.

Nomination process
Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court in Harvey County (Newton) and McPherson County (McPherson). The nomination form is also available from the clerk of the appellate courts in the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka.
One original and 10 copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be submitted by noon Friday, August 27, to:
Office of Justice Melissa Standridge
ATTN: Shelby Hardtarfer
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th Avenue, Room 389
Topeka, KS 66612-1507
Public interviews
The nominating commission will convene at 8:30 a.m. Friday, September 10, to interview nominees. The meeting will be in the Community Room of the Harvey County Courthouse in Newton. Interviews are open to the public.
Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meetings should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days before the meeting date:
ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711
Nominees to governor
The nominating commission will interview nominees and then select from three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.
Term of office
After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.
Nominating commission
The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Melissa Taylor Standridge as the nonvoting chair; Thomas Adrian, George “Chip” Westfall, Jana McKinney, and John Robb, all of Newton; Michael Androes, Harris Terry, and Ann Elliott, all of McPherson; and Amie Bauer of Lindsborg.

Find a District Court

Back to top