Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission has selected Jason Cohorst of Hanover to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Washington County.

The commission conducted public interviews of nominees by videoconference January 22.

Cohorst's new position will be effective on his swearing in. He is a probation officer in Beatrice, Nebraska.

The 12th Judicial District is composed of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties. The vacancy was created when Judge Paul Monty retired January 11. Four people had applied for the opening.

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires this district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Washington County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice K.J. Wall as the nonvoting chair; Carol Good, Barnard; William Navis, Belleville; Dwight Daniels, Curtis Frasier, and Jerry Harrison, Beloit; Dana Brewer and J. Bradley Lowell, Concordia; Tanner Johnson, Courtland; Daniel Metz, Lincoln; Darrell Miller and Roger Rightmeier, Mankato; and Bruce Meyer, Palmer.


Find a District Court

Back to top