Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Osage County created by Judge Shannon Rush's February 1 resignation.

The 4th Judicial District is composed of Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties.

Justice Eric Rosen, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 4th Judicial District, said nominees can apply or be nominated, but it must be on a nomination form and include the nominee's signature.

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires that this district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Osage County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Nomination process

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court in Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, or Osage counties; the clerk of the appellate courts in the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka, or online at

One original and nine copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be submitted by noon Friday, March 5, to:

Janet Walsh
704 Topeka Ave.
Lyndon, KS 66451

Interviews and appointment

The nominating commission will convene by telephone conference at 3 p.m. Wednesday, March 10, to determine the candidates to be interviewed.

The nominating commission will convene to interview nominees at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday, April 6. Interviews are open to the public. The location for the interviews will be determined at a later date.

Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meetings should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days before the meeting date:

ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711

After interviewing the nominees, the commission will appoint a district magistrate judge.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Rosen as the nonvoting chair; Craig  Cole, Garnett; Anthony Mersman, Greeley; Phyllis Gardner, Lyndon; Janet Walsh, Osage City; Heather Landon, Ianne Dickinson, and Forrest Lowry, Ottawa; and Timothy Johnson, Waverly.


Find a District Court

Back to top