Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 8th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by telephone conference at 9 a.m. Wednesday, October 7, to review the nomination form and set the schedule for accepting nominations for a district magistrate judge vacancy in Geary County created when Judge Charles Zimmerman retires January 11.

The meeting is open to the public, and anyone who wants to listen may request instructions by emailing

The 8th Judicial District is composed of Dickinson, Geary, Marion, and Morris counties.

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Geary County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Nominating process

The nominating commission will seek nominations, then convene to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public. The commission will then appoint a district magistrate judge.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 8th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Kevin Harris, Abilene; Ashley Iverson, Alta Vista; Douglas Thompson, Chapman; Darrell Miller, Dwight; James Hefley, Hillsboro; Keith Henry, Junction City; Edwin Wheeler Jr., Marion; and Eric Coffman, Milford.

Find a District Court

Back to top