Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 30th Judicial District Nominating Commission has sent the names of four nominees for district judge to Gov. Laura Kelly, who has 60 days to decide who will fill the vacancy in Sumner County created when Judge R. Scott McQuin retired August 15.

The nominating commission interviewed seven nominees September 30 in Wellington.

The 30th Judicial District is composed of Barber, Harper, Kingman, Pratt, and Sumner counties.

The nominees are:

  • Shawn R. DeJarnett, Wellington, city attorney for Derby and Wellington and private practice lawyer;

  • Timothy J. Henry, Cheney, retired public defender;

  • Chrystal L. Krier, Wichita, private practice lawyer; and

  • Gaten T. Wood, Sharon, county attorney for Barber County, counselor and city attorney for Medicine Lodge, and private practice lawyer.

Eligibility requirements

Nominees for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 30th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Supreme Court Justice Eric Rosen as the nonvoting chair; Melvin Matlock, Belle Plaine; Sidney Burkholder and Elaine Esparza, Harper; Lance Dixon and Gregory Graffman, Kingman; Justin Goodno, Kiowa; Hannah Brass and Alan Goering, Medicine Lodge; and Robert Eisenhauer and Jason Roberts, Pratt.

Find a District Court

Back to top