Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district judge vacancy in Johnson County created when Judge Thomas Foster retires November 29.

The 10th Judicial District is composed of Johnson County.

Justice Evelyn Wilson, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 10th Judicial District, said individuals may apply or be nominated for the position. 

Eligibility requirements

A nominee for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of the 10th Judicial District at the time of taking office and while holding office.

Nomination process

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission, the clerk of the Johnson County District Court, the clerk of the appellate courts at the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka, or online at

One original and 15 copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be delivered by 5 p.m. Thursday, November 5, to:

Kevin Moriarty
7007 College Blvd., Ste. 430
Overland Park, KS 66211

Public interviews

The nominating commission will convene by videoconference at noon Friday, November 20, to select the nominees to be interviewed. The meeting is open to the public, and anyone who wants to listen may request instructions by emailing

The nominating commission will convene to interview nominees at 8 a.m. Wednesday, December 9, in the Johnson County Administration Building, 111 S. Cherry St., Olathe. Interviews are open to the public. The commission will announce if it changes how it will meet because of pandemic concerns.  

Nominees to governor

The commission will select from three to five nominees whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. If there are not three nominees who reside in the district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the judicial district. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Wilson as the nonvoting chair; Thomas Bath, John Parisi, and Samuel Turner Sr., Leawood; Joe Beveridge, Stephene Moore, and Annabeth Surbaugh, Lenexa; Laura McConwell, Mission; Doug Brownlee, James Griffith, and Stephen Tatum, Olathe; Rick Guinn, Kevin Moriarty, and Greg Musil, Overland Park; and Josie Herrera, Shawnee.

Find a District Court

Back to top