Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 8th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by telephone conference at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday, November 10, to discuss seeking additional nominees for a district magistrate judge vacancy in Geary County created by the January 11 retirement of Judge Charles Zimmerman.

The commission received two nominations by a noon deadline November 5.

The 8th Judicial District is composed of Dickinson, Geary, Marion, and Morris counties.

The Tuesday meeting is open to the public. To listen, dial in and enter the conference code:

  • 1-877-400-9499

  • conference code 2199381974

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Geary County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Nomination process

The nominating commission seeks nominations, then convenes to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public. The commission then appoints a district magistrate judge.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating Commission

The 8th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Kevin Harris, Abilene; Ashley Iverson, Alta Vista; Douglas Thompson, Chapman; Darrell Miller, Dwight; James Hefley, Hillsboro; Keith Henry, Junction City; Edwin Wheeler Jr., Marion; and Eric Coffman, Milford.

Find a District Court

Back to top