Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 8th Judicial District Nominating Commission is extending the deadline to receive nominations to fill a vacancy for district magistrate judge in Geary County created by Judge Charles Zimmerman's January 11 retirement.

The commission received two nominations by a noon deadline November 5.

The 8th Judicial District is composed of Dickinson, Geary, Marion, and Morris counties.

Justice Caleb Stegall, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 8th Judicial District, said nominees can apply or be nominated, but it must be on a nomination form and include the nominee's signature.

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Geary County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Nomination process

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court in Dickinson, Geary, Marion, or Morris counties, the clerk of the appellate courts in the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka, or online at

One original and eight copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be submitted by noon Wednesday, December 2, to:

Justice Caleb Stegall
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66612-1507

Interviews and appointment

The commission will convene to interview nominees at 9 a.m. Monday, December 21, at:

4-H and Senior Center
1025 S. Spring Valley Road
Junction City

Interviews are open to the public.

Anyone who attends in person must follow public health requirements set out in Supreme Court administrative order. These include answering questions at check-in about symptoms of or possible exposure to COVID-19, wearing a face mask while in the building, and maintaining 6 feet of physical distance from others.

Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days before the meeting date:

ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711

After interviewing the nominees, the commission will appoint a district magistrate judge.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 8th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Kevin Harris, Abilene; Ashley Iverson, Alta Vista; Douglas Thompson, Chapman; Darrell Miller, Dwight; Keith Henry, Junction City; Edwin Wheeler Jr., Marion; and Eric Coffman, Milford.

Find a District Court

Back to top