Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 2nd Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by telephone conference at 9 a.m. Friday, November 13, to reconsider a nominee's application for a district magistrate judge vacancy in Wabaunsee County.

The vacancy will be created by Judge Blaine Carter's December 8 retirement.

The meeting is open to the public. To listen:

  • call 1-877-400-9499; and

  • enter conference code 2199381974.

The 2nd Judicial District is composed of Jackson, Jefferson, Pottawatomie, and Wabaunsee counties.

Eligibility requirements

Nominees for district magistrate judge must be:

  • a resident of Wabaunsee County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

The nominating commission seeks nominations, then convenes to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public. The commission will then appoint a district magistrate judge.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating Commission

The 2nd Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; David Allen, Circleville; Charles Waugh, Eskridge; J. Richard Lake, Holton; D. Max Fuller, Maple Hill; Norma Dunnaway, Perry; and Edward Pugh, Eugene Scherer, and John Watt, Wamego.

Find a District Court

Back to top