Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by telephone conference at 1:30 p.m. Monday, November 30, to discuss the nomination process for a district magistrate judge vacancy in Washington County.

The vacancy will be created by Judge Paul Monty's January 11 retirement.

The 12th Judicial District is composed of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties.

The meeting is open to the public. To listen:

  • call 1-877-400-9499; and

  • enter conference code 2199381974.

Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible:

ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711

Eligibility requirements

Nominees for this district magistrate judge must be:

  • a resident of Washington County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

The nominating commission seeks nominations, then convenes to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public. The commission will then appoint a district magistrate judge.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating Commission

The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice K.J. Wall as the nonvoting chair; Carol Good, Barnard; William Navis, Belleville; Dwight Daniels, Curtis Frasier, and Jerry Harrison, Beloit; Dana Brewer and J. Bradley Lowell, Concordia; Tanner Johnson, Courtland; Daniel Metz, Lincoln; Darrell Miller and Roger Rightmeier, Mankato; and Bruce Meyer, Palmer.

Find a District Court

Back to top