Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet November 20 to review nominations to fill a district judge vacancy in Johnson County created when Judge Thomas Foster retires November 29.

The 10th Judicial District is composed of Johnson County.

The nominating commission will convene by videoconference at noon Friday, November 20, to select the nominees to be interviewed. The meeting will be broadcast live on the Kansas judicial branch YouTube channel.


The nominees are:

  • Joshua K. Allen, Prairie Village, city prosecutor for several cities;

  • Jenifer J. Ashford, Olathe, district magistrate judge, 10th Judicial District;

  • Kevin J. Breer, Westwood, managing member, Breer Law Firm;

  • Krishnan Christopher Jayaram, Overland Park, lawyer at Horn Aylward & Bandy;

  • Michael Frank McCulloch, Olathe, chief public defender, 10th Judicial District Public Defender Office;

  • Michael Richard-Tel Parrett, Shawnee, lawyer, Law Offices of Tel Parrett; and

  • Vanessa M. Riebli, Olathe, section chief, Johnson County District Attorney’s Office.

Eligibility requirements

A nominee for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of the 10th Judicial District at the time of taking office and while holding office.

Public interviews

The nominating commission will convene to interview nominees at 8 a.m. Wednesday, December 9, at:

Johnson County Administration Building
111 S. Cherry St.

Interviews are open to the public. The commission will announce if it changes how it will meet because of pandemic concerns.  

Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days before the meeting date:

ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711

Nominees to governor

The nominating commission will interview nominees and then select from three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.

If there are not three nominees who reside in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the district.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Evelyn Wilson as the nonvoting chair; Thomas Bath, John Parisi, and Samuel Turner Sr., Leawood; Joe Beveridge, Stephene Moore, and Annabeth Surbaugh, Lenexa; Laura McConwell, Mission; Doug Brownlee, James Griffith, and Stephen Tatum, Olathe; Rick Guinn, Kevin Moriarty, and Greg Musil, Overland Park; and Josie Herrera, Shawnee.

Find a District Court

Back to top