Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district judge vacancy in Johnson County created by District Judge Sara Welch’s July 1 retirement.

The 10th Judicial District is composed of Johnson County.

Justice Evelyn Wilson, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 10th Judicial District, said individuals can apply or be nominated, but nominations must come on a nomination form and include the nominee's signature.

A nominee for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of Johnson County at the time of taking office and while holding office.

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the Johnson County District Court, the clerk of the appellate courts at the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka, online at, or online at

One original and 15 copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be submitted by noon Tuesday, June 2, to:

Kevin P. Moriarty
7007 College Blvd., Ste. 430
Overland Park KS 66211

The nominating commission will convene to interview nominees Wednesday, July 8, in the Johnson County Administration Building, 111 S. Cherry St., Olathe. Interviews are open to the public.

The commission will select from three to five nominees whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. If there are not three nominees who reside in the district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the judicial district. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Wilson as the nonvoting chair; Thomas Bath, John Parisi, and Samuel Turner Sr., Leawood; Joe Beveridge, Stephene Moore, and Annabeth Surbaugh, Lenexa; Laura McConwell, Mission; Doug Brownlee, James Griffith, and Stephen Tatum, Olathe; Rick Guinn, Kevin Moriarty, and Greg Musil, Overland Park; and Josie Herrera, Shawnee.

Find out more about the nominating commission at

Find a District Court

Back to top