Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed Melinda Young and reappointed Jennifer Hill to the Kansas Board of Examiners of Court Reporters.

They will serve three-year terms that begin July 1 and end June 30, 2023.

Young is an attorney from Hutchinson. Hill is an attorney from Wichita.

The Kansas Board of Examiners of Court Reporters supervises granting certificates of eligibility for certified court reporters; oversees court reporter conduct; and reviews and acts on complaints made against certified court reporters. Court reporter certification examinations are given twice a year.

The board includes judges, practicing attorneys, and court reporters.

Other members of the board are:

  • Sharon Cahill, an official court reporter in the 29th Judicial District;

  • Chief Judge Preston Pratt, serving in the 17th Judicial District, composed of Decatur, Graham, Norton, Osborne, Phillips and Smith counties;

  • Sheila Lyons, an official court reporter in the 18th Judicial District, which is Sedgwick County;

  • Shirla McQueen, an attorney with Sharp McQueen in Liberal;

  • Jennifer Olsen, an official court reporter in the 3rd Judicial District, which is Shawnee County; 

  • District Judge Rachel Pickering, who serves in the 3rd Judicial District and chairs the board; and

  • Vesta York, a freelance court reporter from Wichita.

Find a District Court

Back to top