Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission has selected Jason Parks to fill a magistrate judge vacancy in Ottawa County.

The commission met July 28 by videoconference and interviewed three nominees for the position. The meeting was broadcast live over YouTube.

Park's new position will be effective on his swearing-in. He is a licensed attorney and owner of Ink Sharks LLC and Messenger Publishing Co.

The 28th Judicial District is composed of Ottawa and Saline counties. The vacancy will be created by the August 14 retirement of Judge Mary Thrower.

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Ottawa County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Supreme Court Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; David Stanley of Bennington; Jay Macy of Minneapolis; Lance Cochran, Robert German, Peter Johnston, Christine Ritter, and Darrell Wilson of Salina; and Robert Martin of Solomon. 

Find a District Court

Back to top