Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission has selected Regine Thompson to fill a magistrate judge vacancy in Republic County.

The commission conducted public interviews of nominees for the position January 16 in Belleville. Three people had applied for the opening.

The vacancy was created by the resignation of District Magistrate Judge Starla Nelson.

Thompson's new position will be effective on her swearing-in. She is a partner in the law office of Thompson & Thompson, Scandia.

The 12th Judicial District is composed of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties.

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Republic County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Supreme Court Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Carol Good of Barnard; William Navis of Belleville; Dwight Daniels, Curtis Frasier, and Jerry Harrison of Beloit; Dana Brewer and Bradley Lowell of Concordia; Tanner Johnson of Courtland; Daniel Metz of Lincoln; Rick Diamond and Darrell Miller of Mankato; and Bruce Meyer of Palmer.

Find a District Court

Back to top