Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court has authorized the temporary relocation of Thomas County District Court offices from the Thomas County Courthouse to 1105 Taylor Ave. in Colby.

The move will allow for renovations to the courthouse. District court offices will remain in the temporary location until they move to a new judicial center being built next to the courthouse.

Thomas County District Court offices will be closed Thursday, December 3, and Friday, December 4, for the move. Offices will reopen at the temporary location Monday, December 7.

All COVID-19 safety protocols will be observed at the temporary location. These include answering questions about symptoms of or possible exposure to COVID-19, wearing a face mask while in the building, and maintaining 6 feet of physical distance from others.

The authorization does not allow for jury trials to be conducted at the temporary location because the facility does not meet the Supreme Court Mandates and Guidance Regarding Resuming Jury Proceedings.

If jury trials are required, Chief Judge Kevin Berens of the 15th Judicial District must submit to the Office of Judicial Administration a jury trial plan for conducting court proceedings at an alternate location that meets Supreme Court administrative orders, mandates, and guidance.

In addition to Thomas County, the 15th Judicial District is composed of Cheyenne, Logan, Rawlins, Sheridan, Sherman, and Wallace counties.

Find a District Court

Back to top