Skip to content

TOPEKA—The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Washington County created when Judge Paul Monty retires January 11.

The 12th Judicial District is composed of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties.

Justice K.J. Wall, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 12th Judicial District, said nominees can apply or be nominated, but it must be on a nomination form and include the nominee's signature.

Eligibility requirements

Kansas law requires this district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Washington County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Nomination process

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court in Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, or Washington counties; the clerk of the appellate courts in the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka; or online at

Nomination forms may be submitted electronically or by paper copy. If submitting by paper copy, one original and 12 copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be submitted by noon Tuesday, December 29, to:

Justice K.J. Wall
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66612-1507

The nomination form includes instructions for electronic submission.

Interviews and appointment

The nominating commission will convene by videoconference to interview nominees at 9 a.m., Friday, January 22. Interviews are open to the public and will be livestreamed on the Kansas judicial branch YouTube channel. The commission will then appoint a district magistrate judge.

Term of office

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission

The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Wall as the nonvoting chair; Carol Good, Barnard; William Navis, Belleville; Dwight Daniels, Curtis Frasier, and Jerry Harrison, Beloit; Dana Brewer and J. Bradley Lowell, Concordia; Tanner Johnson, Courtland; Daniel Metz, Lincoln; Darrell Miller and Roger Rightmeier, Mankato; and Bruce Meyer, Palmer.

Find a District Court

Back to top