Skip to content

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court appointed Chief Judge Preston Pratt of the 17th Judicial District to fill an unexpired term on the Kansas Board of Examiners of Court Reporters.

Pratt succeeds former District Judge Jeffry Jack, who retired. Pratt’s term expires June 30, 2021.

Pratt is chief judge of the 17th Judicial District, which is composed of Decatur, Graham, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, and Smith counties.

The Kansas Board of Examiners of Court Reporters:

  • supervises granting certificates of eligibility for certified court reporters;

  • administers the annual registration;

  • oversees court reporter conduct; and

  • reviews and acts on any complaints made against a certified court reporter.

The board includes judges, practicing attorneys, and court reporters.

District Judge Rachel Pickering of the 3rd Judicial District, composed of Shawnee County, chairs the board.

Other members are:

  • Sharon Cahill, an official court reporter in the 29th Judicial District, composed of Wyandotte County;

  • Jennifer Hill, an attorney from Wichita;

  • Sheila Lyons, an official court reporter in the 18th Judicial District, composed of Sedgwick County;

  • Shirla McQueen, an attorney from Liberal;

  • Jennifer Olsen, an official court reporter in the 3rd Judicial District; and

  • Vesta York, a certified court reporter from Wichita.

Find a District Court

Back to top