IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

FILED

Administrative Order

October 18, 2021

2021-CM-154

DOUGLAS T. SHIMA CLERK OF APPELLATE COURTS

Re: Ad Hoc Committee on Best Practices for Eviction Proceedings

The Supreme Court hereby creates the Ad Hoc Committee on Best Practices for Eviction Proceedings (committee).

The members of the committee are charged with combining their individual knowledge and experiences to assist in examining and analyzing issues related to the eviction process. The purpose of the group is to identify best practices for eviction proceedings in Kansas, with the goal of reducing court filings, expeditiously resolving pending cases, and enhancing housing stability.

The committee will:

- Study pertinent statistical trends related to Kansas eviction cases, including any available data about case filings, amount in controversy, and the geographical distribution of cases;
- Gather information about how the end of COVID-19 eviction moratoria affects Kansas landlords, tenants, and the court system;
- Examine the use of court-based and court-adjacent eviction prevention and eviction diversion programs in other states;
- Study orders and rules adopted by state-level judicial systems to reduce the number of eviction cases and enhance housing stability;
- Identify court-based programs that have been successful in reducing landlord-tenant case filings and evictions;
- Recommend the implementation and placement of pilot programs in Kansas to reduce eviction filings, resolve pending cases, and enhance housing stability;
- Recommend any necessary changes in law, regulation, or rule to effectuate recommended best practices; and
- Deliver initial recommendations to the Supreme Court by February 28, 2022.

The following persons are hereby appointed to serve on the committee:

Hon. Sarah Warner, judge, Kansas Court of Appeals, chair; Hon. Courtney Mikesic, district court judge, 29th Judicial District; Hon. Christopher Velez, district magistrate judge, 25th Judicial District; Hon. Daniel Vokins, district magistrate judge, 10th Judicial District; Hon. Rodger Woods, district court judge, 18th Judicial District; Amber Ballard, trial court clerk IV, 7th Judicial District; Tracy Hays, trial court clerk V, 18th Judicial District; Jessica Albers, president, Apartment Association of Greater Wichita, Wichita; Erin Beckerman, attorney, Topeka; Michelle Ewert, associate professor, Washburn School of Law, Topeka; L. Donald Huelson, attorney, Olathe; Casey Johnson, attorney, Kansas City; Kerry Kinkade, attorney, Lenexa; Bobbie Lee Riling, attorney, Lawrence; Sue Rouse, member, Hays Housing Authority Board, Hays; and Paul Shipp, attorney, Manhattan.

The group will be supported by Sarah Hoskinson, Director of Dispute Resolution, and other Office of Judicial Administration personnel as needed.

Dated this 18th day of October 2021.

FOR THE COURT

Marla Luchert

MARLA LUCKERT Chief Justice