JUDICIAL DISTRICT NOMINATING COMMISSION 2024 ELECTIONS

The purpose of each commission is to nominate persons for appointment to the office of district judge and to appoint persons to the office of district magistrate judge in judicial districts that have adopted the nonpartisan method for the selection of judges.

The Clerk of the Supreme Court recently conducted elections for lawyer members whose terms are expiring on March 4, 2024. Below are the election results.

JUDICIAL DISTRICT		ELECTED LAWYER MEMBER	TERM EXPIRES
First	(3 positions)	Ronald G. Bates, Jr.	March 6, 2028
		Robert J. Bednar	March 6, 2028
		Kevin E. Reardon	March 6, 2028
First*#	(1 position)	Carol G. Hall	March 2, 2026
Second*	(1 position)	John D. Watt	March 6, 2028
Third	(2 positions)	Thomas G. Lemon	March 6, 2028
		Rebecca A. Sanders	March 6, 2028
Fourth	(1 position)	Brandon L. Jones	March 6, 2028
Fifth♦	(2 positions)	Charles R. Rayl	March 6, 2028
	(1 /	To Be Appointed	,
Sixth*	(2 positions)	Zackery E. Reynolds	March 6, 2028
		Mary Stephenson	March 6, 2028
Seventh*	(1 position)	Elizabeth S. Cateforis	March 6, 2028
Eighth♦	(2 positions)	Ashley R. Iverson	March 6, 2028
		To Be Appointed	
Ninth*	(2 positions)	Thomas A. Adrian	March 6, 2028
		Ann M. Elliott	March 6, 2028
Tenth	(4 positions)	Laura L. McConwell	March 6, 2028
		Kevin P. Moriarty	March 6, 2028
		M. Bradley Watson	March 6, 2028
		Scott A. Wissel	March 6, 2028
Eleventh◆	(2 positions)	Sara S. Beezley	March 6, 2028
		To Be Appointed	
Twelfth*	(3 positions)	James M. Johnson	March 6, 2028
	,	Bradley T. Steen	March 6, 2028
		Darrell E. Miller	March 6, 2028
Twenty-first*	(1 position)	Summer Ott Dierks	March 6, 2028

JUDICIAL DISTRICT		ELECTED LAWYER MEMBER	TERM EXPIRES
Twenty-fifth	(2 positions)	Tomas Ellis	March 6, 2028
		Ashley M. Jackson	March 6, 2028
Twenty-eighth*	(3 positions)	Lance H. Cochran	March 6, 2028
		Russel B. Prophet	March 6, 2028
		Robert G. German	March 6, 2028
Thirtieth♦	(2 positions)	Troy A. Dierking	March 6, 2028
		To Be Appointed	
Thirty-first*	(3 positions)	John K. Chenoweth	March 6, 2028
		David Clark	March 6, 2028
		Mark T. Lair	March 6, 2028

^{*} The number of nominees did not exceed the number of positions to be filled in this Judicial District, and under K.S.A. 20-2904, the nominee was declared elected.

Posted: March 1, 2024

[#] Special election - position previously filled by appointment in 2023.

[♦] The number of nominees is less than the number of positions to be filled in this Judicial District, and under K.S.A. 20-2906(e), the chief justice of the supreme court shall appoint a successor to the position.