JUDICIAL DISTRICT NOMINATING COMMISSION 2022 ELECTIONS

The purpose of each commission is to nominate persons for appointment to the office of district judge and to appoint persons to the office of district magistrate judge in judicial districts that have adopted the nonpartisan method for the selection of judges.

The Clerk of the Supreme Court recently conducted elections for lawyer members whose terms are expiring on March 7, 2022. Below are the election results.

JUDICIAL DIS	TRICT	ELECTED LAWYER MEMBER	TERM EXPIRES
First	(1 position)	Michael G. Jones	March 2, 2026
Second*	(2 positions)	J. Richard Lake Jacob R. Pugh	March 2, 2026
Third	(1 position)	Whitney Casement	March 2, 2026
Fourth	(2 positions)	John A. Boyd Craig E. Cole	March 2, 2026
Fifth*	(2 positions)	Stephen J. Atherton Michael C. Helbert	March 2, 2026
Sixth*	(1 position)	Ronald P. Wood	March 2, 2026
Seventh*	(1 position)	Wesley F. Smith	March 2, 2026
Eighth*	(2 positions)	Keith R. Henry Edwin M. Wheeler, Jr.	March 2, 2026
Ninth*	(2 positions)	Brian L. Bina John S. Robb	March 2, 2026
Tenth	(1 position)	Thomas Kelly Ryan	March 2, 2026
Eleventh*	(1 position)	William S. Adamson	March 2, 2026
Twelfth	(2 positions)	Elizabeth Hiltgen William L. Navis	March 2, 2026
Twenty-First	(2 positions)	Derrick L. Roberson Kitra R. Schartz	March 2, 2026
Twenty-Fifth*	(4 positions)	Robert H. Gale, Jr. William I. Heydman John M. Lindner Zachary D. Schultz	March 2, 2026
Twenty-Fifth*#	(1 position)	Mark E. Kliewer	March 2, 2026
Twenty-Eighth*	(1 position)	Robert A. Martin	March 2, 2026
Thirtieth*	(2 positions)	Gregory C. Graffman H. Douglas Pfalzgraf	March 2, 2026
Thirty-First*	(1 position)	Douglas D. Depew	March 2, 2026

* The number of nominees did not exceed the number of positions to be filled in this Judicial District, and pursuant to K.S.A. 20-2904, the nominee was declared elected.

Special election - position previously filled by appointment in 2021.