Skip to content

You may be admitted to practice law in Kansas without taking the bar exam, if you have been practicing in another jurisdiction eligible for reciprocal admission and you meet all eligibility requirements. You can apply for admission through reciprocity if you meet the requirements.

Eligibility requirements

If you have been admitted by examination to the bar of a reciprocal jurisdiction, you may be admitted to the Kansas bar if:

  • your license is active in a reciprocal jurisdiction;

  • you have never been suspended, disbarred, or lost your license in any jurisdiction;

  • ​you have the requisite character and fitness to practice law in Kansas;

  • you have lawfully practiced law for five of the preceding seven years; and

  • you meet all other eligibility requirements.


Reciprocal jurisdictions

The following states are reciprocal jurisdictions with Kansas:

  • ​Alabama

  • Alaska

  • Arizona

  • Arkansas

  • Colorado

  • Connecticut

  • Georgia

  • Idaho

  • Illinois

  • Indiana

  • Iowa

  • Kentucky

  • Maine

  • Massachusetts

  • Michigan

  • Minnesota

  • Mississippi

  • Missouri

  • Nebraska

  • New Hampshire

  • New Mexico

  • New York

  • North Carolina

  • North Dakota

  • Ohio

  • Oklahoma

  • Oregon

  • Pennsylvania

  • South Dakota

  • Tennessee

  • Texas

  • Utah

  • Virginia

  • Wyoming

  • Washington 

Application fee

The fee for admission to the bar by reciprocity under Rule 719 is $1,250.

Admission through reciprocity

​If you are admitted to the Kansas bar through reciprocity, you must take the oath of admission under Rule 726 before practicing law in Kansas.

Rules relating to reciprocity



Kansas Attorney Admissions Office
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th Ave., 1st Floor
Topeka, KS 66612-1507

Find a District Court

Back to top