Skip to content


You may be admitted to practice law in Kansas after passing the Kansas bar exam. Kansas administers the Uniform Bar Exam, which tests both the knowledge and skills needed to be a licensed attorney.   

When to apply

You can apply for the July exam between November 2 and March 1 and the February exam between March 2 and October 1.
 

Application fees

  • The filing fee for the Uniform Bar Exam is $700.

  • Late applications will be accepted with a $200 late fee through April 1 for the July exam and through November 1 for the February exam.
     

Applying for the bar

To apply for the bar, you must receive a minimum score of 80 on the MPRE. We must receive your score by January 15 for the February exam or by June 15 for the July exam.

You must have your undergraduate and law school transcripts sent directly to the Kansas Attorney Admissions Office from the college or university. We must receive them no later than January 15 for the February exam or June 15 for the July exam.

You must submit a fingerprint card and required waivers as part of a the character and fitness process. Your application will not be accepted until the completed fingerprint packet is received.

You can seek nonstandard testing accommodations by completing an  Accomodations Application. You must make your request by November 1 for the February exam or April 1 for the July exam.
 

Exam summary

  • You must score at least 266 to pass the bar exam in Kansas.

  • The Uniform Bar Exam is given on the last consecutive Tuesday and Wednesday in February and July.

  • The exam components include the Multistate Essay Exam, the Multistate Performance Test, and the Multistate Bar Exam.
     

Preparing for the exam

​The National Conference of Bar Examiners offers past exam questions for the Multistate Essay Exam, Multistate Performance Test, and the Multistate Bar Exam.

Sitting for the exam

You must bring proof of identity. You may bring a laptop on day one, if you opt in to use it to answer essay questions.

If you violate instructions provided the day of the examination, you will be reported to the Board of Law Examiners and you may be considered for character and fitness review. The board may choose not to score your examination.
 

Admission by exam

  • To be admitted, you must have a minimum score of 266 on the Uniform Bar Exam and a recommendation for admission from the Board of Law Examiners.

  • If the Board of Law Examiners rules that you are denied admission due to your failure to achieve a passing score, the decision is final.

  • Wall certificates will be handed out at swearing-in ceremonies. If you are not able to attend, it will be mailed to you. Contact our office if you have any questions or concerns.

Rules relating to the Uniform Bar Exam
​

Contact

Kansas Attorney Admissions Office
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th Ave., 1st Floor
Topeka, KS 66612-1507
785-296-8410
admissions@kscourts.org



Find a District Court

Back to top