Skip to content

This is a test alert message for the alert banner widget. The maximum number of characters is 250. The alert will resize to be multiple lines long.

G. Joseph Pierron Jr.

Judge G. Joseph Pierron Jr.

appointed 1990


Judge G. Joseph Pierron Jr. is the longest-serving member of the Kansas Court of Appeals, appointed in 1990 by Governor Mike Hayden. A native of Olathe, he earned an undergraduate degree from Rockhurst College in Kansas City, Missouri, and a law degree from the University of Kansas School of Law. He worked as an assistant county attorney, assistant district attorney, municipal judge, and district judge before being appointed to the Court of Appeals.

Current term

January 2017–January 2021

Appointed to the court in 1990 by Governor Mike Hayden


Judicial experience

1990-present, judge, Court of Appeals

1982-90, district judge, Johnson County, 10th Judicial District

1972, municipal judge, Spring Hill


Previous professional experience

1971-82, assistant district attorney and assistant county attorney, Johnson County


University of Kansas School of Law, J.D., 1971

Rockhurst College, Kansas City, Mo., A.B., 1968

Olathe Senior High School, 1964


Professional memberships and activities

Kansas Bar Association

  • Chair, Law-Related Education Committee

Kansas Committee for the Prevention of Child Abuse

  • Past president

Kansas Children's Service League

  • Past board member

American Bar Association

  • Member, Judicial Administration and Alternative Dispute Resolution sections

More than 400 presentations on the U.S. Constitution to more than 50,000 people over 20 years


Awards and honors

Olathe Jaycees Outstanding, Young Man Award, 1976

Olathe Police Department, Public Service Award, 1982

National Committee for the Prevention of Child Abuse, Leadership Award, 1986

National Commission on the Bicentennial of the United States Constitution, Leadership Award for the Observation of the Bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution, 1987

Junior League of Topeka Community, Volunteer Award, 1998

Kansas Bar Association, Outstanding Service Award, 1999

Topeka Bar Association, Liberty Bell Awards, 2002 and 2014

Earl E. O'Connor American Inn of Court Exemplary, Service Award, 2004

Governor's Award for Exemplary Service to Children and Families, 2006

Leavenworth Kansas Bar Association, Smiling Bull Award, 2006

Dave DuBoise Civic Education Partnership Award, 2008

Inaugural Kansas Boys State Governor's Award for Outstanding Leadership

Olathe High School, Wall of Honor, 2010

American Bar Association, Burnham "Hod" Greeley Award, 2011

Kansas District Judges Association, award for public education on the Law, 2011

Heartland Mediation Association, President's Award, 2013

Women Attorneys Association of Topeka, Community Service Award, 2015

Numerous leadership and public service awards from National Committee for the Prevention of Child Abuse, Kansas Children and Youth Advocacy Committee, Kansas Corporation for Change, Olathe Police Department, Olathe Medical Center, Olathe Jaycees, Leavenworth Bar Association


Community, civic, and charitable activities

Rotary International

  • Past president, Olathe Rotary Club

  • Member, Downtown Topeka Rotary Club

  • Paul Harris Fellow

  • Member, Lawrence Optimist Club


Additional information

Married to Diana Carlin Pierron, retired university professor and administrator.

He and his late wife, Amy Dennis Pierron, raised three children: Sam, Abby, and Dan.


Find a District Court

Back to top