Skip to content


The Access to Justice Committee makes recommendations to the Supreme Court about issues such as:

  • increasing resources available for legal services for self-represented litigants in civil cases;

  • improving planning and coordination of legal services delivery; and

  • reducing potential barriers to equal access to justice.



The ​Assessment of Self-Represented Litigant Services released in 2020 offers recommendations on simplifying processes, developing statewide self-help tools, increasing training, and improving data collection and analysis. 

Committee roster

  • District Judge Carl William Ossmann, chair, who serves in the 3rd Judicial District, which is Shawnee County

  • Chief Judge Kevin Berens of the 15th Judicial District, composed of Cheyenne, Logan, Rawlins, Sheridan, Sherman, Thomas, and Wallace counties

  • Judge Jennifer Brunetti of the 11th Judicial District, composed of Cherokee, Crawford, and Labette counties

  • Judge Amy Fellows Cline, Kansas Court of Appeals

  • Judge Sarah Warner, Kansas Court of Appeals

  • Christy Campbell, Kansas Legal Services, Wichita

  • Senior Judge James Fleetwood, Wichita

  • Marcia Hannon, Kansas Supreme Court Law Library, Topeka

  • Christie Koehn, chief court services officer of the 6th Judicial District, composed of Miami, Linn, and Bourbon counties

  • Meredith Snepp, Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library, Topeka

  • Meredith Schnug, clinical associate professor and associate director of the Legal Clinic at the University of Kansas School of Law, Lawrence

  • Ruth Wheeler, district court administrator of the 5th Judicial District, composed of Chase and Lyon counties

  • Amy Entrikin, Nemaha County Clerk of the Court, 22nd Judicial District

  • Madeline Dickerson, protection order project coordinator for the Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence

  • Casey Johnson, director of advocacy and litigation for Kansas Legal Services

  • District Judge Carl Folsom III, who serves in the 7th Judicial District

  • Amanda Flores, Clerk of the Reno County District Court

  • Michelle McCormick, Executive Director of the Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence



Find a District Court

Back to top