Kansas Judicial Branch Home
Kansas Courts
Kansas Judicial Branch

Clerk of the Appellate Court
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th Avenue, Room 107
Topeka Kansas 66612-1507
Telephone:  785.296.3229
Fax:  785.296.1028
Email: appellateclerk@kscourts.org

Rules Adopted by the Supreme Court

Rules Adopted by the State Board of Examiners of Court Reporters

Rule 302
Rules Adopted by the State Board of Examiners of Court Reporters

Membership - Appointment

The members of the board shall be appointed by the Supreme Court for regular terms or to fill vacancies. The board shall consist of not more than nine members, the number to be determined by the Supreme Court. The board shall consist of not less than two judges of the district court, two attorneys engaged in the active practice of law, and one official reporter of the district court. Each appointment shall be for a term of three years. The Supreme Court will appoint a new member to fill a vacancy on the board occurring during a term. A new member appointed to fill a vacancy serves the unexpired term of the previous member. No member may serve more than three consecutive three-year terms, except that a member initially appointed to serve an unexpired term may serve three consecutive three-year terms thereafter. If any reporter or judge shall cease to hold office that person's membership on the board shall terminate.

[History: Am. effective September 5, 1991; Am. effective July 28, 1995; Am. effective July 1, 2012.]

See also: Rule 1001 - Electronic and Photographic Media Coverage of Judicial Proceedings