Kansas Judicial Branch Home
Appellate Clerk
Kansas Judicial Branch

The Kansas Supreme Court
301 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka Kansas 66612-1507

Office of Judicial Administration
Fax:  785.296.7076
Email: info@kscourts.org

Appellate Clerk's Office
Fax:  785.296.1028
Email: appellateclerk@kscourts.org

Supreme Court Nominating Commission

The Supreme Court Nominating Commission is an independent constitutional body created by the Kansas Constitution, art. 3, § 5(g), and governed by K.S.A. 20-119 et seq.

The Commission is a nine-member board responsible for recommending qualified individuals for appointment to the Kansas Supreme Court and the Kansas Court of Appeals. Four of the Commission's members are non-attorneys appointed by the Governor; four others are attorneys selected by attorneys in each of the State's four Congressional Districts. The Chair of the Commission is an attorney elected by attorneys in a statewide vote.

The Commission sends the names of three qualified individuals to the Governor for each vacancy. The Governor interviews the candidates and makes the appointment. The justices and judges then stand for retention, six years for a Supreme Court justice and four years for a Court of Appeals judge.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission, please contact the Clerk's Office at the address and phone number listed on this page.