

# 2022 KANSAS MENTAL HEALTH SUMMIT

Improving court and community response to behavioral health issues

## **About**

The 2022 Kansas Mental Health Summit will feature local and national speakers who will educate and inform attendees about how each stakeholder in the process can help improve the court's response to mental health issues.

This initiative emanates from the <u>National Judicial Task Force to Examine State Courts' Response to Mental Illness</u>, a collaboration of the National Center for State Courts, the Conference of Chief Justices, the Conference of State Court Administrators, and the State Justice Institute.

Primary Issues and Focus of the Task Force

# Who should attend

Chief judges from each of Kansas' 31 judicial districts are assembling teams to participate in the summit drawing from the groups listed below. A limited number of at-large general admission registrations will also be accepted.

- judges
- attorneys
- court administrators
- law enforcement
- first responders
- co-responders
- probation officers

- case managers
- hospital representatives
- · community corrections
- · behavioral health providers
- nonprofit and charitable organization leaders
- county commissioners

# Opening remarks

Chief Justice Marla Luckert, Governor Laura Kelly, Senate President Ty Masterson, and House Speaker Ron Ryckman will provide opening remarks.

# Registration

This no-cost, two-day summit will take place in Topeka with options to participate in person or virtually. <u>Online registration</u> is open now.

#### When

8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Wednesday April 13 8:30 a.m. to noon Thursday April 14

#### Where

Townsite Avenue Ballroom Townsite Tower, First Floor 534 Kansas Ave. Topeka, KS 66603

## **Speakers**

## Judge Steven Leifman

Eleventh Judicial Circuit of Florida

#### Dr. Margie Balfour

Connections Health Solutions and University of Arizona

#### Tim DeWeese

Johnson County Mental Health

#### **Brynne Haverkamp**

Pawnee Mental Health Services and Riley County Police Department

#### **Jeffrey Easter**

Sedgwick County Sheriff

#### Lane Mangels

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center

#### **Audra Goldsmith**

Council of State Governments Justice Center

#### Judge Sally Pokorny

7th Judicial District

### Judge Michael Russell

29th Judicial District

#### **Shanelle Dupree**

Juvenile Justice Oversight Committee

#### Rep. Brenda Landwehr

Special Committee on Mental Health Modernization and Reform

#### **Marc Bennett**

Sedgwick County District Attorney and Criminal Justice Reform Commission

#### Dr. Shawna Wright

Governor's Behavioral Health Services Planning Council

#### Dr. Debra Pinals

University of Michigan

#### Patti Tobias

National Center for State Courts