Rule 601B

KANSAS CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Grateful recognition is due the Commission on Judicial Qualifications for its assistance in the extensive analysis and study that preceded the adoption of Rule 601B. The Commission members were: Chairman, Hon. Robert J. Fleming, District Court Judge, Parsons, Kansas; Vice-Chairman, Nancy S. Anstaett, Attorney, Overland Park, Kansas; Secretary, Carol G. Green, Appellate Court Clerk, Topeka, Kansas; Hon. J. Patrick Brazil, Court of Appeals Chief Judge, Retired, Topeka, Kansas; Bruce Buchanan, Lay Member, Hutchinson, Kansas; Dr. Mary Davidson Cohen, Lay Member, Leawood, Kansas; Hon. Theodore B. Ice, District Court Judge, Retired, Newton, Kansas; Hon. Jennifer L. Jones, Municipal Judge, Wichita, Kansas; Hon. David J. King, District Court Chief Judge, Leavenworth, Kansas; Jeffery A. Mason, Attorney, Goodland, Kansas; Christina Pannbacker, Lay Member, Washington, Kansas; Mikel L. Stout, Attorney, Wichita, Kansas; William B. Swearer, Attorney, Hutchinson, Kansas; Carolyn Tillotson, Lay Member, Leavenworth, Kansas; Hon. Thomas L. Toepfer, District Court Judge, Hays, Kansas; and former member participating in this Code revision, Hon. Lawrence E. Sheppard, District Court Judge, Olathe, Kansas.

The revised Model Code of Judicial Conduct adopted by the House of Delegates of the American Bar Association on February 12, 2007, as hereinafter modified, is adopted as a rule of this Court to be designated the Kansas Code of Judicial Conduct. The Kansas Code of Judicial Conduct as hereinafter set forth shall be effective as of March 1, 2009. All alleged violations committed before March 1, 2009, shall be subject to Rule 601A (2008 Kan. Ct. R. Annot. 645).