Kansas Judicial Branch Home
Cases and Opinions
Kansas Judicial Branch

The Kansas Supreme Court
301 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka Kansas 66612-1507

Office of Judicial Administration
Fax:  785.296.7076
Email: info@kscourts.org

Appellate Clerk's Office
Fax:  785.296.1028
Email: appellateclerk@kscourts.org

Kansas Supreme Court Selected Opinion Summaries - March 17, 2006

Summaries and press releases are prepared by Ron Keefover, Office of Judicial Administration, Kansas Judicial Center, 301 West 10th, Topeka, KS 66612-1507 (785-296-2256), e-mail: keefoverr@kscourts.org.

Appeal No. 88,650: State v. Joseph A. Hayden

The Court, in a 5-2 decision, orders a new trial in a Franklin County second-degree murder case, based on judicial misconduct by the trial judge in presiding over the case. Majority opinion authored by Justice Carol A. Beier. A dissent by Chief Justice Kay McFarland is joined by Justice Marla Luckert.

Appeal No. 94,400: State v. Kirk T. Wilson

The Court, in a unanimous decision authored by Justice Eric S. Rosen, affirms the defendant's Atchison County first-degree murder conviction, rejecting his claims that there was insufficient evidence, that evidence of a witness' polygraph test was erroneously admitted, that the prosecutor committed misconduct in closing arguments and that testimony by a law enforcement officer about the credibility of a witness was improper.

Appeal No. 87,763: State v. Coy Mathis

The Court, in a unanimous decision authored by Justice Donald L. Allegrucci, affirms the defendant's Wyandotte County felony murder conviction, which was based on the underlying crime of child abuse, rejecting his claims of ineffective assistance of counsel, insufficient evidence, abuse of discretion in admitting certain evidence, juror misconduct and cumulative errors.